Skip Navigation
A | A | A
Bookmark this page
Print This Page

Board of Directors: Director, Great Lakes Division

Chief Timothy SchabbelTimothy L. Schabbel, CFO, EFO, CHPP
Fire Chief, Clay Fire Territory (Ind.)

Chief Timm Schabbel has been in the fire service since 1985, including serving 19 years as fire chief of the Clay Fire Territory, which is an accredited fire department located in northern St. Joseph County, Indiana. He holds an associate’s degree in fire science and a bachelor’s degree in fire service management and has completed the Executive Management Program at the University of Notre Dame. He is an Executive Fire Officer graduate and has received the Chief Fire Officer designation from the Center for Public Safety Excellence. In addition, Chief Schabbel completed the Fire Service Chief Executive Officer Program at Texas A&M and attended Harvard University’s John F. Kennedy School of Government.

During his tenure as fire chief with Clay Fire, Chief Schabbel initiated and led two successful mergers with adjoining fire departments, and he transitioned the department from a traditional township fire department to a fire territory that currently provides services to five separate governmental entities.

Chief Schabbel was instrumental in establishing the Indiana MABAS mutual-aid system. In addition, he chaired the committee responsible for creating and implementing the statewide Indiana Mutual Aid Response Plan.

Chief Schabbel is a past president of the IAFC’s Great Lakes Division and continues to serve on many state and national fire service committees. In 2007, Chief Schabbel received Indiana’s first Fire Chief of the Year award from the Indiana Fire Chiefs Association and received the IAFC Safety, Health and Survival Section’s Garry Briese Safety Performance Award in 2008.